Jew in the suburbs


A Gift Ring

 

On my 18th birthday my mother and grandmother wanted to give me a gift which I could hold onto for years to come.  They asked me what I wanted and suggested jewelry. I agreed, it may surprise you that I didn’t choose anything with peals since peal is my birth stone. I have always loved Sapphires, I find them to be just as beautiful as peal and I told my mother if she had her heart set on buying me jewelry I wanted to pick a sapphire ring. I have very small hands and fingers so after the ring was chosen I had to leave it at the store to get sized.  On my birthday I went to pick up the ring. I was so excited about it. Now the ring has more sentimental value to me than I expected.

 

You see I was standing at the jewelry counter waiting for the ring when I felt eyes on me. I turned slightly and found myself looking at a man in a wheelchair. “Getting yourself something today?” He asked me, I answered that it was my 18th birthday today and my mother and grandmother wanted to get me something special.

 

He continued to look at me without saying anything for a while and then suddenly he said. “I know sometimes you feel like no one will ever love you and that you will be alone. You are a beautiful girl; always remember that you will find someone.”

I was speechless for a few moments as he went on. I wondered why he came up to me and how he knew that sometimes these thoughts ran through my head.  He began to wheel away from me. He said again you are a beautiful girl, it will happen for you. As he said this he looked at the woman who was his wife, smiled and moved towards her. She waited for him and smiled at me. Moments later she was walking beside him.

 

I tried on my birthday ring, it fits perfectly. It is a ring for only special occasions, but every once in a while when there is no special occasion I take it out, look at it, and place it on my finger. Every time I look at it I remember what the man said, I smile, and I think about what it will be like when with G-d’s help I am married to and living with my soul mate. I know in my heart because of my emonia that the man is right, that I have a soul mate that I will be with and this person will love me as deeply and profoundly as I will love him.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s nice to hear comforting words that give us hope.

Comment by Jewish Side

Thank-you, keep reading!! I love your blog!

Comment by jewinthesuburbs

Your welcome and Thanks! 🙂

Comment by Jewish Side




Leave a Reply

